Skip to content

Life on the Rock — Mother Teresa becomes a saint

September 6, 2016

Many of us are celebrating the canonization of Mother Teresa. She certainly lived her life on the Rock, the Rock of our Salvation. I am a great admirer of Mother Teresa. If I ever would call any person my idol, it was and is “Mother Theresa.”

"Life on the Rock"

“Life on the Rock”

I know, in all I do, I know I can never come close to anything Mother Teresa did, and perhaps still does. We can all aspire and look to her as an example of strength needed in this life.

Numbers 20:11. Then raising his hand, Moses struck the rock twice with his staff, and water came out in abundance, and the community and their livestock drank.

2 Samuel 22, Song of Thanksgiving. David proclaimed the words of this song to the Lord when the Lord had rescued him from the grasp of all his enemies and from the grasp of Saul. He said: O Lord, my rock, my fortress, my deliverer, my God, my rock of refuge! My shield, my saving horn, my stronghold, my refuge, my savior, from violence you keep me safe. Praised be the Lord, I exclaim! I have been delivered from my enemies.

Psalm 31: 2, 3, 4. In you, Lord, I take refuge, let me never be put to shame. In your righteousness deliver me, incline your ear to me; make haste to rescue me! Be my rock of refuge, a stronghold to save me. For you are my rock and my fortress, for your name’s sake, lead me and guide me.

Matthew 7:24. Everyone who listens to these words of mine and acts on them will be like a wise man who builds his house on a rock.

Matthew 16:18. So I say to you, you are Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church.

An example to all of us, Mother Teresa had certainly built her life on the Rock. Let us all try and follow her example.

May God bless all of you, with love, your friend Brunhilde

Save

Save

Save

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

