Skip to content

Lent 2014 by Brunhilde Luken

March 5, 2014

Love that never ends

As I woke up this morning
I felt so loved by you.
You where still holding me.
With many thanks I greeted the new day.
You smiled at me.
I knew right then that nothing could take away this wonderful love,
So freely given ,
for me to take.

“Just seek and you will find,
It is already there.
Before you could ever think of Me
I put it there.
I allow you to choose
I hope it is I,
The eyes of your heart will tell you why.

True love can only be found within.
Just trust Me
I will take you to this never ending flow of love,
It’s deep in your heart,
As you seek Me,
it will never part.”

Ash Wednesday is today.

I am in the process of preparing my Lenten Journey which I like to share with you.

I am reading and contemplating the book Ascent of Mount Carmel (St. John of the Cross).

We are all on a journey getting to know the Lord better and understanding the mysteries we experience on our own journey. I truly love this book. I do learn a lot. Besides this book I am also re-reading the Gospel of Mark, and my usual daily reading of  My Utmost, for His Highest by Oswald Chambers. I have been reading this book on a daily basis for quite a few years. I love it so much that I just bought the updated edition.

To walk with the Lord is truly an exciting journey. We are all on this journey together.

Let’s open our hearts and minds to the mysteries that our Lord is revealing to us as we refocus on the gospel.

Ephesians 5:14
Awake, you who sleep.
Arise from the dead.
And Christ will give you light.

Before Jesus started His Journey He allowed to be baptized by John the Baptist.

Mark 1:11 Then a voice came from heaven, “You are My beloved Son, in whom I am well pleased”.

Mark 1:12 Immediately the Spirit drove Him into the wilderness.  And He was there in the wilderness forty days, tempted by Satan, and was with the wild beasts, and the angels ministered to Him.

Jesus was the Son of God, He was also fully human. Did He know all that He would have to endure as He started His journey, or did He take a leap into the unknown? He loved the Father and us so much that He sacrificed His life to save us. He knew He came to earth to fulfill His mission.

John 12:27-28 Now my soul is troubled and what shall I say? “Father, save me from this hour”? But for this purpose I came to this hour. Father glorify Your name.”

Yes we Love the Father, The Son and the Holy Spirit, all three in One.

The Almighty God. The God we love and fear at the same time.

The Lord expects much of each one of us. The Lord teaches me much through pictures.

Before I woke up one morning just recently, somebody opened the door to the outside.

As I looked outside, it was totally dark, there was a little light in the distance. I could not see anything and my thought was to close the door. I heard some people talking. For a second I felt a bit fearful. Then I jumped into the darkness without any fear. I floated and was gently put down.

I realized I had just taken “A Leap into the Unknown”.

A Leap into the Unknown by Brunhilde Luken

A Leap into the Unknown by Brunhilde Luken

We have an amazing Lord. I never dreamed of ever publishing a book and talking about my personal experiences, until I understood, yes, the Lord is in charge. We are asked to share our personal stories so we can learn from each other. We truly have an amazing Lord. To trust Him fully will lead each one of us on an exciting journey.

Even Christ felt troubled and deeply distressed.

Mark 14:32-42 Then they came to a place which was named Gethsemane, and He said          to His disciples, “Sit here while I pray.”And He took Peter, James, and John with Him and He began to be troubled and deeply distressed. ”Then He said to them, “My soul is exceedingly sorrowful, even to death. Stay here and watch.”

He went a little farther, and fell on the ground, and prayed that if it were possible the hour might pass from Him. And He said, “Abba, Father, all things are possible for You.

Take this cup away from me, nevertheless, not what I will, but what you will.”

Then He came and found them sleeping, and said to Peter; “Simon, are you sleeping ?

Could you not watch one hour? Watch and pray, lest you enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is week.”

Again He went away and prayed, and spoke the same words. And when He returned He found them sleeping again, for their eyes were heavy, and they did not know what to answer Him.

Then He came the third time and said to them. “Are you still sleeping and resting? It is enough! The hour has come, behold, the son of Man is being betrayed into the hands of sinners. Rise, let us be going. “See, My betrayer is at hand.”

Jesus was ready to face what came toward Him. We are also asked to be ready, ready to be a Catholic in an often hostile world. It is easy to be a Catholic in a Catholic community,  it is a bit different in a secular group of people or proclaimed Christians, that do not live their Christian faith. I am thankful to live in a country where I am able and free to live my faith. I feel so lucky.

Let us all recommit this Lenten season to take a leap, a leap into the unknown.  A leap to live and spread the Gospel, a leap to live our Catholic faith. Lent is a perfect time to take that leap and truly “love one another as Christ loves us”.  We are the only Christians many people see. We are the Christ our Lord sends out each day.

In an illumination, I was patting the head of a little boy and said to him: “it is all right,  all is well”. Then I woke up with part of one of my poems on my lips: “Show the love I allowed you to see, use the two sets of wings that I handed to thee”.

Isaiah 40:31 But those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.

Let us lift each other up in prayer and prepare for our Easter. Together let us make a difference.

Isaiah 43:7, 21 Bring to me all the people who are mine, whom I made for my glory,
whom I formed and made. The people I made will sing songs to praise Me.

We are all asked to love as Christ loves us. So they will be able to say again about the Christians: See how they love one another. This is the way we spread Christianity, with the love the Lord shows us.

I created a painting “Gregorian Chants”.

Gregorian Chants by Brunhilde Luken

Gregorian Chants by Brunhilde Luken

When I sit back and meditate on this painting I see in the center a large Christ figure with outstretched arms smiling at me. To the left of the Christ I see many people behind bars. Of course I love this painting. It hangs over the fireplace in my studio.

Yes, all of us who love the Lord are asked the “Utmost for His Highest.”We are the ones to bring the smiling Christ into the world to free those that do not see the light, those that do not know Christ. We have to bring the Christ into the World. We are not asked to love as Christ loves us, it is a command. Love as I love you.

We are all human. We are part of this big kaleidoscope made up of different colors and shapes to create one whole, the world we live in.

John 15: 9-12 As the Father loved Me, I also loved you; abide in my love. “ If you keep my commandments, you will abide in my love, just as I have kept my Father’s commandment’s and abide in His love. These things I have spoken to you, that My joy may remain in you, and that your joy may be full. This is my commandment, that you love one another as I have loved you.

Nowhere does it say it is easy to always live a Christian life, but, It is a life filled overflowing with joy.

Mark: 16: 15 “And He said to them,“Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature.” He who believes and is baptized will be saved.

We can help others to see and remove the bars in front of them and bring them closer to the Lord. Then all can become like children again and the Lord will return their wings, so they can fly again. We can help set them on a journey to freedom.

Lent is the perfect time to make a new commitment to our Lord.

Mark 8:34 When He had called the people to Himself, with His disciples also, He said to them, “Whoever desires to come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross, and follow me.”

We are all disciples for our Lord. Together we will make a difference.

I wish all of you a meditative, contemplative Lenten Journey.

Love, Peace and Joy to all of you,

Brunhilde

I also want to let you know that my book My Walk With Christ A Spiritual Journey, second edition, Meditations by Brunhilde Luken.

It is now available in bookstores and at amazon.com

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

