Skip to content

Farewell to Mary Donovan

January 29, 2013

Dear friends,

We just lost one of our beloved members, Mary Donovan. She left us to be with the Lord. She will be greatly missed.

Marmaryy certainly walked with the Lord every step of her way. From death to life is but a fleeting moment. Mary is now with the Lord she loved so much. Therefore let us rejoice with Mary for she no longer has to suffer.

(John 14: 2-3)  In my Fathers house are many mansions; if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and receive you to Myself; that where I am, there you may be also.

Mary was a firm believer in the word of the Lord.

(Rev. 1: 8)   I am the Alpha and the Omega, the Beginning and the End, says the Lord, who is and who was and who is to come, the Almighty.

I like the words from a little book I published, My Walk with Christ, A Spiritual Journey (by Brunhilde Luken)

Shall the light enfold me, and carry me home, I left you a gift, a gift from my heart. The sunshine in your eyes, the whispers in my ears, your hugs and kisses the love we shared, the hours of joy the tears of sorrow, I will take them with me. I wish nothing more that when you leave this earth I will meet you in heaven. We will celebrate Thanksgiving together, at the table set and prepared for all of us. Then I know I left you a precious gift.

In the quiet of my heart I heard You whisper, Love Peace and Joy. (John 15: 16)  You did not choose Me, but I chose you.

Farewell Mary.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

Mary Donovan was one of the founding members of the Commission for Women. Her life, rich and full, is described in her obituary which we invite you to read. May she rest in peace.
Susan Bailey, Chairperson, Commission for Women of the Diocese of Worcester

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chris Farmer permalink
    January 30, 2013 10:20 pm

    Thank you for this wonderful tribute…so aptly pointed by the profound excerpt from your book. What a privilege it was to meet Mary about a year ago. Mary had a zest for life and Christ. She inspired me long after our meeting. I am saddened for her loss, but have consolation in my heart that she is experiencing pure love and joy in the arms of our Lord and Savior.

Leave a Reply

