Skip to content

The Cup of My Life: Week 1, Day 1

November 16, 2012

A housekeeping tidbit before today’s reflection: please feel free to comment on this and any post in this series. I will include links to all previous posts at the end of each post so you can catch up if you join us late.

At the end of each post, you will see the word “Comments.” Right next to that word in red type is the phrase leave one followed by an arrow – click on this phrase to leave your comment.

For those who have never commented before, when you start to type in your comment, you will notice that you will be asked for an email address and a name. The email address goes to the Commission and will be kept private. As for the name, you do not have to use your real name – you can create any name you like.

The first time you comment, you will notice that the comment will need to be approved. Once approved by the Commission, you will not have to go through that process again.

I hope this clears up any confusion about posting on our blog. If you have any questions, please write to Susan at worcestercommissionforwomen@gmail.com.

Now onto today’s post on Week 1, Day 1, “The Cup of My Life.”

The reflections that I will write on each exercise will be the journaling that I did for the questions Joyce Rupp posed; the questions are in bold type. These are just my personal reflections. I am hoping that by sharing mine, you will share yours too and we can all learn from each other.

 “Every time you listen with great attentiveness to the voice that calls you the Beloved, you will discover within yourself a desire to hear that voice longer and more deeply.” Henri Nouwen (page 11, The Cup of My Life by Joyce Rupp).

When I think of God loving me unconditionally, just as I am, I feel empowered, and safe. Many times I find it hard to believe that He loves me that way when I reflect upon the weakness and brokenness of my life. I am amazed at my lack of faithfulness. How easy it is to be distracted by what is going on around me, forgetting what is inside of me.

When I embrace God’s unconditional love however, I feel confident in what I am doing. I look forward to the day. It’s not unlike how I feel when I’ve drunk my morning coffee; I can liken it to drinking in God’s love. The results are the same: my life force rises up and is released. My creativity flows to the surface and often pours out. As a writer, my pen captures that flow and sometimes, something beautiful is created.

Like my cup that holds that coffee, my body holds the Spirit. When I am conscious of that Spirit, my mind opens up. My inner sight becomes sharper, the eye of my soul perceives more clearly.

Love stirs but doesn’t flow as freely as I would like.

It makes me wonder where my true priorities lie.

As I pray through these exercises, I most desire that I appreciate love as much as I appreciate creativity. The two are not mutually exclusive but I know that I often value creativity over love. It often becomes my idol.

God creates. God is love. To desire love is to desire God. My “cup” can never fully contain His love – it has to be poured out to everyone God puts in my path.

“Dear God, I am sorry that I value creativity over love and that I even separate the two. Please unite my creativity with love; make love the overriding factor that guides every aspect of my life. Increase my concern for others so that Your love will flow forth freely as it is meant to do. Multiply little acts of kindness. Soften my heart to receive Your love so I can embody it and freely give it away.”

“I am a cup of life.” (page 16). Life that comes from God. May I learn to accept, embrace and love His creation, the person that is me, so that I can freely give this gift away.

God loves each of us unconditionally. Each of our “cups” hold Him. He yearns for us, waits for us, welcomes us, cares and consoles us.

Do you feel your “cup” overflowing with this love? How do you respond to it?

Previous Posts:

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

