Skip to content

Fall 2012: a meditation by Brunhilde Luken

November 5, 2012

This year is different, it is election year.  As I listen to all the different campaign speeches the words of Pope John XXIII come to my mind:

“Let us look at each other without mistrust, meet each other without fear, talk with each other without surrendering principles.” This is very important throughout our life.

With this said, I will not let any more speeches trouble my mind and take away my attention of enjoying this beautiful season.

Yesterday when I drove to the store I passed fields of pumpkins glowing in the sunlight.

As I looked outside a bobcat walked cautiously out of the woods to survey its surroundings and quickly disappeared again. I could sit forever on my patio and watch the squirrels getting ready for winter carrying one acorn at a time to their nesting place.

There, a lost butterfly finding the last nectar of the season. It seems like they all are preparing for another season. Yet we are all held in His Hand.

Butterfly

by Brunhilde Luken

 Where will you rest today?
The flowers all gone,
The cold will come.Butterfly, where will you find your nectar?
You move so gently.

Come to me,

Rest in the palm of My Hand
I will feed you with nectar
And keep you ’till spring.

 1 Peter 5:6-7

Therefore humble yourselves under the mighty hand of God, that He may exalt you in due time, casting all your care upon Him, for He cares for you.

I have to ask myself  “Am I in the Fall of my life?” I don’t think so, maybe in the fall of this earthly life.  As I wake up in the morning I feel like every day is springtime, a new day of awakening, a new sunrise, a new day of growing closer to our Lord. There is a new day to help a friend or stranger come closer to the Lord.  A new day to set your heart ablaze with the love of the Lord and to share His Love with those around you.

As we travel into the mystery of the heart of our Lord, we will also experience darkness and fear and we know we cannot do this alone. This is why Jesus came to take our hand and lead us through all darkness so we are able to let His light shine and share His love with all those the Lord brings into our midst.

A new day, a new beginning, a new awakening to the light of the Sun that will touch all you do.  All He asks is Surrender and I will take your hand and lead you from Fall, through Winter to Spring. Where all is well and you rest in the Palm of His Hand.

I cannot help myself but to come back at this critical time of election year, when Abortion is one of the issues. I just read a poem by Gwendolyn Brooks from the book “Untie the Strong Women” by Clarissa Pincola Estes, PhD

The Mother:

Abortions will not let you forget.
You remember the children you got that you did not get,
The damp small pulps with a little or with no hair,
The singers and workers that never handled the air.
You will never neglect or beat
Them, or silence or buy with a sweet.
You will never wind up the sucking-thumb
Or scuttle off ghosts that come.
You will never leave them, controlling your luscious sigh,
Return for a snack of them, with gobbling mother-eye.

I have heard in the voices of the wind the voices
of my dim killed children.
I have contracted. I have eased
My dim dears at the breasts they could never suck.
I have said, Sweets, if I sinned, if I seized,
Your luck
And your lives from your unfinished reach,
If I stole your births and your names,
Your straight baby tears and your games,
Your stilted or lovely loves, your tumults, your marriages,
aches, and your deaths,
If I poisoned the beginnings of your breaths,
Believe that even in my deliberateness I was not deliberate.
Though why should I whine,
Whine that the crime was other than mine?
Since anyhow you are dead.
Or rather, or instead,
You were never made.
But that too, I am afraid,
Is faulty: oh, what shall I say, how is the truth to be said?
You were born, you had body, you died.
It is just that you never giggled or planned or  cried,

Believe me, I loved you all.

Believe me, I knew you, though faintly, and I loved, I loved you All.

Ephesians 4: 4, 5, 6 – There is one body and one Spirit, just as you were called in one hope of your calling: one Lord, one faith, one baptism; one God and Father of all, who is above all, and through all, and in you all.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

