Skip to content

Join our Virtual Book Club: The Cup of Our Life by Joyce Rupp

October 19, 2012

As a follow-up to the successful retreat day by Joyce Rupp last month, we on the Commission for Women would like to extend an invitation to you to join our Virtual Book Club. We will begin by a weekly study of The Cup of Our Life by Joyce Rupp.

Would you like to join with us? Here’s what you need to do:

  • First, you need to be a subscriber to this blog. Subscribing is easy – simply send an email to worcestercommissionforwomen@gmail.com and type SUBSCRIBE in the subject heading. If you are already on our mailing list, you are already subscribed.
  • Secondly, if you do not have a copy of The Cup of Our Life, you will need to procure one. There are a variety of ways to do so:
    • Visit your local bookstore and ask them to order The Cup of Our Life by Joyce Rupp, ISBN: 978-1-93349-531-6, published by Ave Maria Press. Be sure to specify that you want the 2012 revised edition.
    • Visit these websites to purchase online:
      • Ave Maria Press
      • Amazon (available paperback and for the Kindle)
      • Barnes & Noble (available in paperback and for the Nook)
      • Additionally you will need a notebook for journaling and, your favorite cup. This cup is a key part to the meditations Joyce will offer in the book.

In the introduction she writes, “In the cup I see life, with its emptiness, fullness, brokenness, flaws, and blessings … The spiritual journey
is like that – a constant process
of emptying and filling, of giving and receiving, of accepting and letting go.”

The Cup of Our Life will lead you on such a spiritual journey through simple exercises. Each one includes a short reflection written by Joyce followed by a time of quiet prayer. She offers simple prompts for journaling to facilitate writing down your reflections as you meditate. You can do one exercise each day and complete the book in six weeks, or you can spread it out over time.

You can read more about The Cup of Life here on Joyce Rupp’s website.

We will be reflecting on one exercise each week. And we want you to participate by commenting on our reflections. At the bottom of each post is a place where you can submit your comment. The ideal would be to create a discussion, just like in a group or book club setting.

Would you like to join us?

Begin by subscribing to our blog. And if you’re already subscribed, leave a comment for this post and let us know that you are joining our Virtual Book Club.

In two weeks, we will begin the discussion. We’re excited about sharing together with you this wonderful spiritual guidance by Joyce Rupp.

22 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2012 4:08 pm

    I was at the Joyce Rupp retreat and am still repeating every day Sisters, Brothers, take your time go slowly, Listen deep withing yourselves love is waiting for you. I am looking forward to this book and club. I think I will get my book on my Kindle that I hardly use.

  2. October 19, 2012 4:14 pm

    Would love to join you. I’ve had this book in my pocketbook since purchasing it at the retreat and want to take this spiritual journey inspired by Sr. Joyce — delighted it’s possible to do this collectively!

    • October 19, 2012 4:16 pm

      Wonderful! I bought the book at the retreat too and look forward to discussing it with all of you.

  3. Holly Kreidler-Phaneuf permalink
    October 19, 2012 5:35 pm

    Would love to join a a book club focusing on Joyce Rupp’s book. Please count me in.

  4. October 20, 2012 10:32 am

    What a gift Joyce Rupp is giving us! Even though i had to miss the retreat, I am grateful to be able to be part of this book group! I’ve loved the earlier edition of this book, but will now go find the updated version! And someday I hope you and/or she will offer a similar group for the Sophia books, my very favorite of all!!!

  5. Mary Beth Robinson permalink
    October 21, 2012 9:48 pm

    Please count me in. Great idea.

  6. Kimberly Proulx permalink
    October 22, 2012 9:14 pm

    Hello – I would be interested in the Book Club, but I have a concern. If I use the blog for my comments, will my name be posted?

    Thanks.

    On Fri, Oct 19, 2012 at 11:40 AM, The Commission for Women of the Diocese

    • October 22, 2012 10:16 pm

      You can choose the name you want – you don’t have to reveal your real name.

  7. Ann permalink
    October 23, 2012 4:48 pm

    I am interested in joing the group; however, I probably have an older edition of the book. Will I have to purchase a new one?
    By the way, I absolutely loved the day with Joyce Rupp. She is someone I have always wanted to hear and it finally happened. Thank you, Women’s Commission!

    • October 23, 2012 4:54 pm

      I’m not sure how the 2 editions differ. To be on the safe side, I’d recommend getting the new edition. Thanks for your interest!

  8. Carole Hoffmann permalink
    October 24, 2012 1:22 am

    I have read this book and it is wonderful. I look forward to reading it again and sharing.

  9. Michele permalink
    November 3, 2012 12:06 am

    I would love to join in the discussion.

    • November 3, 2012 1:50 pm

      Feel free to join right in – just leave your comment on the post. Others will begin to join soon.

  10. Barbara permalink
    November 4, 2012 2:23 pm

    I was at the Joyce Rupp retreat in September. It was the 3rd time I have spent a day with her over the years. I would love to share a book discussion with all of you.

    • November 4, 2012 8:17 pm

      Feel free to make further comments on this post, we’d love to hear your reflections.

  11. Linda permalink
    October 8, 2016 4:17 pm

    i would love to join this discussion. Is it still an option?

    • October 8, 2016 7:20 pm

      Unfortunately that was an old post from a few years ago so we are no longer having that discussion.

Leave a Reply

