Skip to content

A reflection on summer

August 31, 2011

Summer’s Ending
By Brunhilde Luken

The colors are so beautiful
The air is so crisp.
I took my jacket and hurried outside to enjoy this beauty
This God given gift.
With my arms wide open
I took in a deep breath
Such peace, such joy filled my being
I was alone, yet not alone at all
I felt drunk with wine, even though I did not drink

What a perfect time to contemplate

What will I be when I grow up?
Yes, what will I do when I am all grown up?
Don’t look at me like this and tell me
“You are grown up”

Just like Spring, Summer, Fall and Winter
As one season passes, we are full of anticipation for the next
Life is so exciting.
I feel so close to the “I am who I am”

Is this real?
I started to feel like I was floating,
I touched my arms, my legs and my face,
O yes this is real
I started to run
Maybe I can jump and touch heaven

The hills around me looked golden in the sun
A whole field of sunflowers opened up before me
Something begged me to rest
Wow, sunflowers
I picked one and petal by petal took it apart
I was again awestruck at such a beauty
So many petals and all connected
And being nourished through the center

Yes this is it “I am who I am”
We are all connected and nourished through the center
I just sat down to feel this connectedness, this wholeness, this oneness with the
“I am who I am”

We don’t always feel like we are on top of the world. We know that Satan is about trying to find an opening, especially when we feel burdened with to many commitments. Life is not without tribulations. This is when I quickly go to my quiet spot and call “Abba, Father!” For me this has  an immediate calming factor. I am reminded of  His presence and I feel the Love, Peace and Joy that can only come from Him. “Abba, Father!”

Romans 8:15, 16, 17.
For you did not receive the spirit of bondage again to fear, but you received the Spirit of adoption by whom we cry out, “Abba,  Father!” The Spirit Himself bears witness with our spirit that we are children of God, and if children, then heirs—heirs of God and joint heirs with Christ, if indeed we suffer with Him, that we may also be glorified together.

John 8: 31, 32.
The Truth Shall Make You Free
Then Jesus said to those Jews who believed Him.” If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed. And you shall know the truth,and the truth shall make you free.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

