Skip to content

Looking beyond

July 5, 2011

By Brunhilde Luken

 

From a young age on I knew there was more to life than what I could see, or touch and feel. It was early spring, the year of my first communion, I was just learning about our awesome God. I was fascinated by this wonderful friend and Father I could communicate with any time I wished. It was also a time when the Priest goes out to bless the fields. I asked my mother to please wake me early, I have to go along to witness the blessing of the fields, but why? There are only old people going. I said, Please wake me, I need to go.”

It was a glorious day. The fields were glistening in the sun. I saw nothing but light and felt this tremendous love. I knew then there was an almighty God, a great mystery to unfold. I will never forget this moment.

When I started to paint, I took all the different lessons. I studied drawing, watercolor, figure drawing, rice paper painting, acrylic and oil. I practiced much, mostly flowers. They were beautiful. People loved them, I thought, but this is not enough for me, I want to paint from my heart. I want to get to know the Lord through my art. I want to look beyond.

I wanted to feel the presence of the Lord in my work. As Francis Bacon said, “The job of the Artist is always to deepen the mystery.” There is a big mystery to unfold if we allow the Lord to have His way with us. It is a constant “Yes Lord.”

To allow the mystery to slowly unfold we need time to dream. Summer is a perfect time to sit by a brook or in your garden or your perfect quiet spot and dream. I will share a poem I wrote about such a time.

A Time to dream

All I needed was a little time,
To catch myself,
Become still,
Take time to dream
All those wonderful dreams,
Things to do, to see, places to travel ,
To contemplate.
What is life still holding for me?
My secret wishes and plans,
Where do I still want to go?

My little girl inside keeps stirring,
Don’t grow up to fast,
You are too young,
Sit down and dream your best dreams yet
While there is still time,
Don’t lose me please
In this fast-paced world,
In those empty faces
Where they are told what to dream
What to do, how to sing and how to dance,
How to dress and who to be.

Dare to dream your own dreams,
To see though your own eyes,
To think your own thoughts,
To choose to seek,
To be the one you are.
There is still time.

(John 15:5) I am the vine, and you are the branches. Whoever remains in me, and I in him, will bear much fruit.

Psalm 66:1-4
Make a joyful shout to God, all the earth!
Sing out the honor of His name:
Make His praise glorious.
Say to God,
“How awesome are Your works!
Through the greatness of Your power
Your enemies shall submit themselves to you.
All the earth shall worship you
And sing praises to You:
They shall sing praises to Your name.”

Psalm 62:7
In God is my salvation and my glory:
The rock of my strength, and my refuge,
is in God

As I start my day I bow to the Lord, teach me more, help me to get closer to you today and understand you better. Show me the path that is only mine. Please help me to be free in your Love and fully understand that freedom, that can only come through you Lord.

In John 8: 31-36 Jesus said to those Jews who believed Him,”If you abide in My word, you are My disciples indeed. And you shall know the truth, and the truth shall make you free.”

The following is from my calendar “ Spiritual Moments” A thought to contemplate:
I saw my Lord with the eye of my heart, and I said: “ Who art Thou?” He said: “Thou.”(Mansur al-Hallaj)

I close in the words of Joseph Campbell: When we quit thinking primarily about ourselves and our own self-preservation, we undergo a truly heroic transformation of consciousness.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

