Skip to content

The beauty of play

May 24, 2011

by Brunhilde Luken

Often we become so overwhelmed with things we have to do, that we simply forget we also have a little girl inside that still needs playtime. I experienced just such a time when I went to sleep one evening a few years back.

The Girl in the Meadow

I heard her calling me
come, come, begging me
Please come and play.

I opened the door,
It was so beautiful outside,
There was a big meadow right in front of me,

In the distance I saw the little girl,
Please, please come and play.

I did not even hesitate,
I ran towards her,
Together we danced under the sun.
I twirled her around, we rolled down the hill
All the while giggling and laughing,
What a happy time,
All was perfect.
I woke up still giggling.

Assuredly, I say to you, unless you are converted and become as little children, you will by no means enter the kingdom of heaven. (Matthew 18:3)

We have great joy and consolation in your love, because the hearts of the saints have been refreshed by you. (Philemon 7)

For His anger is but for a moment, His favor is for life; Weeping may endure for a night, But joy comes in the morning. (Psalm 30: 5)

You will show me the path of life; in your presence is fullness of joy; At Your right hand are pleasures forevermore. (Psalm 16: 11)

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

