Skip to content

A Messenger for Our Lord

December 9, 2010

By Brunhilde Luken

Last month I wrote a story about Angels, Angels we often don’t recognize, Angels our Lord sends to us in time of need.

This month I write a story about how we can be a messenger send by our Lord into the lives of friends or strangers by welcoming our Lord into our heart and hear Him speak to us, to be His hands and a temple where He is welcome to live.

About 5 years ago we were planning a trip to Germany. As we got ready for our trip I received a message from an old friend that a mutual friend in Germany was ill. Her name is Ulrike. I was thinking of all the wonderful times we shared. I quickly embraced her and sent her many prayers. Immediately I felt this urge to visit her as soon as we get to Germany. Not knowing how ill she was, my prayers became quite urgent. Through my prayers I felt more connected to Ulrike and to our Lord. I just knew I had to see her as quickly as possible. I asked my husband, who is our travel planner, to please plan a visit to Ulrike first.

From 1986 until our return to the States in 1990 my husband was on a business assignment in Germany. During this time Ulrike and I spent much time together. We continued to stay in touch after our return to the USA. Despite all good intentions we eventually lost contact while I was busy helping raise grandchildren and Ulrike was starting and managing a dance school.

Naturally our first stop was to see my friend. I had no idea in what condition I would find her.

After we rang the doorbell her husband opened the door. He was happy to see us but he also looked very sad. He guided us to the living room where Ulrike was resting on the couch. After a quick greeting, she informed us that she was dying of bone cancer and there was no more help for her. She was constantly in pain. It was just a matter of a short time. I can not express how saddened I felt when I heard this.

I knew that while we lived in Germany Ulrike and her family did not attend church. Knowing this I was more saddened. As we all live in a mortal body there are times we have to accept, this is it, my time on earth is ending. This was such a time. I did not get any message to pray to see her body well. Our Lord had other plans. While our husbands where visiting I asked Ulrike if she and I could go to another room.

Here we could be alone with the Lord. I just knew and felt our Lord’s presence. I took her in my arms and held her and talked to her about our Lord and the after life. I talked to her about the love of our Lord and that there is a life after this life, more beautiful then we can imagine. This life is not meant to last for ever. She informed me that she does believe in God but her husband did not share that belief with her. We talked and prayed for a long time. I asked the Lord to stay with her and hold her while she is still on this earth and then receive her when her life on earth is ending. I talked to her about the Bible that it could bring her much peace if she would read it and learn more about our Lord. She told me that she was not able to pray before I got there. We prayed and shed tears together. She became very peaceful.

When it was time for us to leave, she asked if we couldn’t stay longer. Looking back I wish I would have stayed a while longer. I would have loved to stay and guide her in her dying.

A few weeks later I received a letter from her husband that she died peacefully, and that he was with her in the hospital at her bedside, daily reading to her from the Bible until she went to be with the Lord.

I could see the work of our Lord.

I often thought about my friend Ulrike. I was saddened by the fact that she had to leave this earth at such a young age. She was just sixty years old. About a year ago, one evening before I went to sleep I asked the Lord in my prayers: “Lord, was I able to bring her to you?” I really wanted to know.

In a dream-vision I was informed that I was able to help her from a distance, then I moved her closer to the living water. I was standing under a roof fully in the light. As I stayed with that thought there before my eyes appeared a white sheet with something wrapped in it slowly unwrapping to expose a golden chalice. When I woke up my first thought was, “What a powerful message!” I felt so totally at peace.

I knew then, I was able to be a messenger for our Lord.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 9, 2010 3:55 am

    Brunhilde,
    There’s no greater privilege than ministering to the dying, allowing God to use you to help them come home to Him. I was able to let God use me to be there for my dad and my mom, and now I feel such comfort knowing they are safe with Him. He definitely gives signs when you ask. Thank you for a wonderful post!

Leave a Reply

